Stuck in the Psalms

I have been challenged to read through a Psalm or two or three each day as well as my normal reading. I have been enjoying it immensely. The Psalms never get old. They seem to adapt to nearly every emotional state possible as you meander from 1 to 150. I think it’s healthy to remember you can be happy with God. You can be mad at God. You can be scared in front of God. You can be you in front of God and the Psalms give us the permission for that. The various writers are all over the place and it lets me exhale with relief. I don’t have to pretend.

Recently I’ve been stuck on Psalm 112. Psalm 112 is all of 10 verses long. It isn’t necessarily remarkable in anyway, but I have been stuck there nonetheless. It will take me a few posts to get through all that I want to think through, but hang in there with me.

Verse 4 says this, “Light dawns in the darkness for the upright; he is gracious, merciful and righteous.”

I’ve been focused on this verse because I have been trying to figure out how to replace the crap in my life with “good”. I’m not sure what good. What am I supposed to look like? I’ve struggled just stopping my crap, because I haven’t replaced that in my heart with anything else. What am I supposed to replace my crap with?

Verse 4 has stuck on me because I think I am supposed to become more gracious, merciful and righteous. Have more grace. Have more mercy. Live more like Jesus. My goal isn’t to become perfect in these areas. My hope isn’t to work these parts of life out to the point that I don’t need Jesus in my life. That isn’t the goal. My goal is to have more Jesus in me and less me in me. Jesus is the King of Grace, Mercy and Righteousness. The King. I just want to be more like Him.

And though I haven’t grown at the pace I wish. I still have hope. Because, “Light dawns in the darkness for the upright…” Each day is a fresh chance because every day the Light overpowers darkness. Each morning I can try again to be less me and more Him. And the next day I know His Light is going to overwhelm the darkness and I have another chance.

It’s so messy being me. I’m a mess and the fixing I need is messy, but these little nuggets of brilliance like Psalm 112:4 are doing their work.

Stay tuned there are 9 more verses to enjoy of Psalm112 : ()

Leave a Reply

