I Keep Learning

I love learning. I plan to learn my whole life. What is most fun for me is what I learn from things I’ve read over again and again. Something new always seem to pop-up. For example:

“I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better.” Ephesians 1:17

I have read Ephesians a number of times, but haven’t seen this verse. This verse has had a huge impact on me today. Paul, the writer of most of the New Testament of the Bible prayed often in his letters. His prayers have a similar ring to them. Paul wanted those in the churches he had started to know God better. That was his prayer for them over and over.

These people didn’t all have great circumstances. They needed less persecution and more funding. They needed more protection and better housing, but Paul asked for God’s blessing so they might know him better. That for me is pretty telling as to what my prayer life should be about. If I could just know God better, would my life change to where my circumstances don’t matter. If my son could know God better would his actions that frustrate his teachers and us change?

Our goal must be to get closer to God so that we know him more. Knowing him more makes everything better. Our goal in praying for a change in circumstances is to make things better, so why not make everything better all at once?

“I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better.” Ephesians 1:17 – Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

