What Christmas Is All About

It’s nearly Christmas. Around here Christmas displays have been up in stores since September, so we are ready for Christmas now. During this season different groups of people are always talking about what Christmas is really all about. Everyone has a version.

Kids: Christmas = Santa and gifts
Adults: Christmas = Gifts, guilt and debt
Businesses: Christmas = half the years revenue in 6 weeks (hopefully)

My wife asked me an interesting question last night. She asked, “What did your parents tell you about why you celebrated Christmas?” I answered, “Nothing.” Now that may or may not be true, but I don’t remember a specific conversation about Christmas at any point in my life. We didn’t have any church experiences so no connection there.

I remember watching Frosty the Snowman and Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer on TV around Christmas. I remember going in search of Christmas trees, sometimes at a store, sometimes from a ditch. I mostly remember family. We spent almost all of Christmas vacation with our extended family.

I don’t believe there is one answer to the question, “What is Christmas all about?” Because really this is an individual experience and our take on that can’t be wrong. Because it’s our version of what we think. At this point in my life, I think the intent of Christmas is right here:

“The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed me to bring good news to the poor; he has sent me to bind up the broken hearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound.” Isaiah 61:1

What if Christmas was really about this stuff. Sharing the good news of Christ. Caring for those who are broken and broken hearted (not by dropping a few coins in a red can, but actually caring). Setting free those who are captive by sharing the freedom that is found in Christ.

I could sign up for that, but I’m weird.

What about you?

One thought on “What Christmas Is All About

  1. From a secular point of view at least you had a little exposure to Jesus with “A Charlie Brown Christmas”. Thank God for Charles Schulz!

Leave a Reply

