Words…

I have preached a sermon on this topic or words. I have a 7 year old son, so I share about this all the time at home. But I’ve never notices how amazing this verse is to go with this topic of words.

Have you heard this before? Yes
Do you need to hear it again? Yes
Will you hear it this time? TBD

“There is one who’s rash words are like sword thrusts, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.” Proverbs 12:18

For a guy who jacked up so much of his life, Solomon was a very wise dude. Most of us relate to this statement from the stand point that we have had someone use words toward us, that hurt. Like sword thrusts. We remember those times. They take our breath away.

Few of us relate to this verse because we recognize we have been the one who’s rash words hurt. I was/am the king of this. I used to be so good at figuring out just what to say that would do the most damage in the fewest words. Oh was I good at it.

I don’t believe I am proud of that anymore. But I realize I can’t undo the damage I’ve done. Hopefully there were wise people around those I have hurt that brought healing.

Now, I’m trying to bring healing to others. I don’t know if I am wise necessarily. I am open to what God has to say for me and others. Sometimes this results in wisdom being shared with someone who needs it. I sat recently in a meeting and watched two people tear each other to shreds with their words then look at me and wonder what is wrong. What’s wrong? That statement just cut his legs off. What’s wrong? You just cut her heart out.

We are hyper sensitive about the words our children use. Yet we spread gossip recklessly. We are easily offended by words used to describe us, yet we trample others feelings without noticing.

Sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me. Really? Sword thrusts hurt.

Challenge of the day. Spend the afternoon only using words that encourage, compliment or thank someone else. Can you do it? I believe in you, I know you can!

Words by Hawk Nelson

One thought on “Words…

Leave a Reply

