How Big is Your God?

How big is your God?

You might think that question would be answered uniformly, at least by people who follow the same God. For example, I am a follower of Jesus. The God who created the heavens and the earth and everything in it. That God is my God. He’s huge. He has His hand on so many things it’s ridiculous. He’s so many steps ahead of me all the time, it is mind blowing. That’s my God. He fixes hurts. He comforts those who are struggling in difficult decisions. He embraces the dying. He reclaims the forgotten. He redeems the wanderer. I was reminded this morning how big my God is. I received an email that in part said this:

“Also, the other night (my friends) met a man in Vietnam that said the only good place in Iowa is a small town named Ottumwa.”

Ottumwa is the place I live. I’ve lived here 5 years. I feel like God called my family here for His purposes. We are trying to be obedient. My friends have felt the same call. They are heading here in July of this year. I wonder if maybe on their current journey they were starting to wonder if they made the right decision. Were they questioning leaving what they are doing to come here? I am not certain what the circumstances are surrounding this conversation. But I do know that the name of our town, where God called me was spoken by a Vietnamese man, half way around the world, to a couple he didn’t know had anything to do with Ottumwa.

How big is your God?

My God is so big, we support a bunch of Khmer people in Battambang, Cambodia, because it was God’s plan. My God is so big, I love a ton of people half way around the world because they have given up everything – families, jobs, school, – to do what God has called them to. That’s the same God.

How big is your God?

I don’t know what you are dealing with today. But whatever it is, I know this: your circumstance is not bigger than my God. And I pray, your circumstances aren’t bigger than your God.

One thought on “How Big is Your God?

  1. Missionary, a person who leaves their family for a short time so that others can be with their families for eternity.

Leave a Reply

