I’m Befuddled

Most people are closer to the heartbeat of pop culture than I am. That is a given and truly understandable given my disinterest in the matter. But I can’t believe no one saw fit to tell me about this. How could this happen and no one told me? I don’t blame all of you, but I do blame some of you.

Skittles changed their green flavor to sour apple? Whose idea was this? Why wasn’t I brought into this discussion? Come on…RIP lime flavor.

Though this decision seems baffling to me, something that isn’t baffling is the grace of God. I’m reading in Psalm 3. No one ever quotes anything from Psalm 3, but what the hay.

“But you, O Lord, are a shield about me, my glory, and the lifter of my head.” Psalm 3:3

When I read that about God being the lifter of my head, all I could picture was a dad putting his finger under his son’s chin to lift it up toward him. Our God wants that kind of relationship with us. That intimate. That He could reach down and lift our chin up toward Him. Doesn’t that seem like a far cry from a God of wrath and destruction? God isn’t out to catch us doing something wrong. He wants to catch us to bring us close to Him and protect us from the evil one.

Dont’ get me wrong, you don’t want to end up on the wrong side of God. Check out verse 7b:

“For you strike all my enemies on the cheek; you break the teeth of the wicked.” Psalm 3:7b

That seems super specific and terrifying. I’ll stick with the “lifter of my head,” rather than the “breaker of the teeth…”

LLLF

 

Leave a Reply

