IF

Do you have a favorite word?

Isn’t that a weird question? I think it’s weird and I asked. But think about it. Any favorites out there? I would say for years my favorite has been quagmire. It is quite the interesting word and underused. Another word that I love, but I can’t call my favorite because it was brought to me by someone else…ramshackle. Awesome word, never used and hilarious all in one.

You see it is possible to have a favorite word. Recently I’ve been intrigued by this word: If.

It holds so much in those two little letters. There is so much depth there. So much hope. So much defeat. An example:

“If you turn at my reproof, behold, I will pour out my spirit to you; I will make my words known to you.” Proverbs 1:23

So much hope in these words. God says, if you turn back to me, I will give my spirit and make my word known. It won’t be hard to figure out anymore. This is the if yes. But we all know when there is an if yes, there is an if no. If no:

“I also will laugh at your calamity; I will mock when terror strikes you,…” Proverbs 1:26

Ouch.

Do you have an “if” statement ruling your world these days? What is it?

One thought on “IF

  1. What about an “If only…”? It’s sort of an expression of regret.

    If only I had done this, we would be reaping this? If only I hadn’t said “…”, maybe things would be better. If only I had a better … If only I had purchased that lottery ticket last night, I am sure I would have won and all would be better! If only… If only… If only…

    There’s a sermon in the making.

    BTW – Favorite word? Epiphany…

Leave a Reply

