Humbled

Have you ever been truly humbled? Think Michael Jordan playing baseball humbled.

Jordan

From the pinnacle of success  (world championships in basketball) to the lowest of lows batting .202 in twoish seasons. Quite the fall. Quite certainly a humbling experience for our friend, the best basketball player of all time.

As always, when we are humbled, people are interested to see what the comeback looks like. Do we stand up? Do we own up? Do we recover? Can we continue on? Jordan came back and won 3 more world championships.

I’m just finished Job. Job was obviously humbled. I’m not even thinking about the difficulties he faced, but more about how God responded to Job’s questions. God made His point, quite clearly. That brought Job to His lowest point. You can be indignant when a friend ruffles your feathers or tries to call you out. But when God calls you out on the carpet…that’s what I thought. You’ve got nothing.

What does Job’s comeback look like? Let’s take a look:

“I know that you can do anything, and no one can stop you. You asked, ‘Who is this that questions my wisdom with such ignorance?’ It is I–and I was talking about things I knew nothing about, things far too wonderful for me. You said, ‘Listen and I will speak! I have some questions for you, and you must answer them.’ I had only heard about you before, but now I have seen you with my own eyes. I take back everything I said, and I sit in dust and ashes to show my repentance.” Job 42:1-6

Boom. Job got the message and he humbled himself before God. He knew he couldn’t win this fight. He didn’t give up, he just handed it over to who was always in charge. I think this is such a beautiful picture of what true humility looks like and how we can recover from being humbled with grace, honor and dignity.

Thanks Job.

Leave a Reply

