No Answer

Still in Job. Now I am too my favorite part.

Chapters 38, 39, 40 & 41. Yep, you read that right, 4 chapters. Four whole chapters of God describing Himself, and calling Job out for his haughtiness in regards to God during this calamity.

It is truly beautiful and menacing. Most of us don’t spend the time to think of all that God is doing, has done, will do. We can’t wrap our minds around Him and we truly don’t know where to even start. Where do you start?

I would suggest these 4 chapters of Job before going to Genesis. Genesis is the first person narrative. You are in the story. In Job, God is describing just a few things that He is responsible for and it takes up 4 chapters. He is so amazing.

In Job there was a rhythm to the writing. It is actually considered a book of poetry because of the rhythm. Job speaks, a friend speaks, Job speaks, a friend speaks, etc. etc. But God smashes that up because there is no way to answer Him. How do you answer,

“Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth? Tell me if you have understanding. Who determined its measurements–surely you know!” Job 38:4-5

Ummmmm…

That’s what I thought.

I love this not because it is intimidating (which it is, I get goose bumps when I think about hearing those words from the mouth of God) but because of how passionate God is about what He has done. He isn’t indifferent regarding His creation but He is all in. He knows and loves every detail. These words aren’t said without emotion, they come across with great emotion and clarity. This passage gives me a beautiful picture of a God that cares so much about His creation that He could, He just might want to have a one on one relationship with me.

The passion He uses to describe what He has done and what He is in charge of, He also spends on me. That is humbling and inspiring.

Man I love God.

 

Leave a Reply

