8:28

8:28.

It’s a time that happens twice a day.

It could be an address (without the colon).

But I’m a pastor, so 8:28 reminds me of a verse in the Bible. This one in particular reminds me of the 8:28 in the book of Romans. It reads:

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.”

What this doesn’t say: Everything in your life will be good. You will have no troubles in your life.

What it does say: Even the crap in your life, God can turn to good.

We all have crap in our lives. Some of us are just running at a little deeper depth when it comes to crap. Sometimes I think it is funny when people for details about the bad things going on in your life. I picture it like this – I say, “I have a lot of pig crap from a farrowing house in the middle of my living room.” They say, “Oh really, how much?”

At which point I think, that doesn’t matter. It’s crap, stinky, messy, ugly, crap and the quantity doesn’t really matter; but thanks for asking.

Romans 8:28 isn’t a verse to be used to help people standing in a puddle of pig crap in their living room. No, you should just see if you can help with the smell. Romans 8:28 is a verse that you remember when you are on the other side of the clean up. Once it’s done and you can look back, Romans 8:28 is helpful. Romans 8:28 proves to you that God was right there with you in the crap, you just didn’t have the time or the patience to look for Him or to Him.

At least that’s my story.

Leave a Reply

