I Know

I’m still in Job. And you really have to love his confidence. His word choice is truly epic considering his predicament. Check this out:

“For I know that my Redeemer lives, and at the last he will stand upon the earth.” Job 19:25

Job is never considered a prophet. His book is considered a book of poetry (like the Psalms). He isn’t predicting the future. At this point in the book he hasn’t heard from God that we know of. But yet he has immense confidence in this statement. He doesn’t say, “I believe…”; he says, “I know.” That’s so emphatic. So certain.

How can he be so certain? I bet  a few weeks before when he was at a party at his son’s house enjoying his family and wealth, he was not concerned that it would all go away in one day. When your world has literally crumbled before your eyes, how could you really be certain of anything?

Your God, your Rock, your Fortress, your Comforter, your Healer, your Rescuer, your Everything has seemed to slip away from you. What has been your reality is all different now. There is nothing that you can claim to “know” because all that can be known has been taken away. Your children, your security, your wife (her choice), everything is different. So how can you know?

This has always baffled me about Job.

But today I get it. I really do. Not all of it, obviously, but I can understand how you can know even in the face of extreme difficulty. I know. My Redeemer lives. He Redeems me. He’s come for you too.

I always think in songs, this song quotes Job 25.

Nicole C Mullen – My Redeemer Lives

One thought on “I Know

  1. Because, after all the wounds, all the disappointments, all the loss, all the pain, all the sacrifice, all the death, and all the joy, one thing still remains – Him. The I Am, the Lord of Lord, the King of Kings. And He has not EVER forgotten us, and He heals all our worldly bruises, and welcomes us home. You bet OUR Redeemer lives!

Leave a Reply

