What Is the Cost?

I’m a slacker. Forgive me. I’ll spend a few days catching up.

2 Samuel 24:18 – 25

In 2 Samuel we learn a lot about King David. That is still the David from the David and Goliath story that almost everyone knows. David says a lot in the Bible. A lot of the Psalms are written by David. So there is a lot to choose from, but I think one of the most profound things he says, comes right here.

A prophet comes to David and tells him he is to go a specific person and build an altar to the Lord on this guys threshing floor. David sets off to do just that. Now the guy, Araunah, sees the King outside his front door and does what most of us would do. Why are you here? David tells him, “To buy the threshing floor from you, in order to build an altar to the Lord, that the plague my be averted from the people.” 2 Sam. 24:21 Araunah has the King show up and drop a Jesus Juke in his lap, so Araunah answers the way all of us would – Just take it man, I’ll give it to you, I’ll give you everything you need. What’s mine is yours.

But then David gets profound. Check out verse 24

“But the king said to Araunah, “No, but I will buy it from you for a price. I will not offer burnt offerings to the Lord my God that cost me nothing.”

A sacrifice to God isn’t a sacrifice unless it costs you something.

So where are you at? Are you giving God your spare time? Are you giving God your spare change? Are you giving God what you have left over?

God isn’t interested in your leftovers or what you can spare. He wants you.

One thought on “What Is the Cost?

  1. Another good one Cy. I was encouraged by it.
    Today I was mad at a friend who I have been helping. I only want the best for her but she continues to mess it up! I really want to pull away away and say enough already. This message as given me food for thought on sacrifice for Him, not me.

Leave a Reply

