J & D

1 Samuel 22

David is still in trouble. Saul is still trying to kill him. And listen to the words used to describe the situation surrounding David.

Verse 2, “And everyone who was in distress, and everyone who was in debt, and everyone who was bitter in soul, gathered to him. And he became captain over them. And there were with him about four hundred men.”

Or

Verse 23, “Stay with me; do not be afraid, for he who seeks my life seeks your life. With me you shall be in safekeeping.”

Do these phrases sound familiar at all? How about, “Come to me all you who are weary and heavy laden.” Jesus said that. Or what about, come to me and I will give you life. Does that sound like Jesus?

Jesus is in the line of David (see the genealogy in Luke), but clearly David was in the line of Jesus. God used him to whisper to us about His son, coming later. The Old Testament is full of these things. These whispers, these connections. Nothing makes me smile more when I see a new connection that I’ve read over before. It takes looking back to see these things.

Life is like that. Only when you look back, can you see how Jesus has been there the whole time, though you didn’t see Him at first. He’s there.

What is a book in the Old Testament you have struggled to see Jesus?

Leave a Reply

